Totems, Guides and Therianthropy (oh my)

Amelia's Musings

*May need updating

Originally Published/Created by Amelia Nightside
February 5, 2014

I have found that many of those who are newly awakening, or even those already aware of a kin-type, often seem to be confused by what exactly Therianthropy is. Equally so, there seems to be a blurring of lines between Therianthropy, Spirit (animal) Guides, and Totem animals.

I would like to use this to explain to everyone the difference(s) between the three.

Basics

Define – First, I will define these terms, and then, if I feel it is needed, I will further explain the differences between each.

Therianthropy – This is an identity. Individuals who identify as a non-human [Earthly] animal are considered Therians. This identity most commonly is held psychologically and/or spiritually. This identity is often experienced via Shifts and species ( or sometimes body) dysphoria. This identity is often expressed via voluntary or involuntary…

View original post 732 more words