Ride Across the River: Soldier of Freedom in the Army of the Night

Dire Straits: “I am a Soldier of Freedom in the Army of the Night.”  That is a song called “Ride Across The River.”  While working on my usual posts, and leaving the Youtube player playing (on top of SomaFM, weird even for me), this song came up.  I found the lyrics to be galvanizing, especially that first sentence: “I am a Soldier of Freedom in the Army of the Night.”

Usually the idea of being a “soldier” is foreign to me.  I know many others have served, but that has not been my path.  Unless you consider what I have been doing for the past few years, writing on WordPress and reblogging the work of other creatives (astrologers, writers, poets, photographers) as “serving” as a “Soldier of Freedom.”  And with my chronic (and often severe) sleep problems, I suppose I would qualify for being a member of the “Army of the Night.”

I wonder if this is true for others that are exploring this topic of possibly being “otherkin” (or embracing it, take your pick).  It has been true for me, nearly lifelong, and it seems a curse in a world where morning types (“larks”) who work in the daytime seem to dominate everything.  Anybody willing to share any thoughts on this?

3 AM CDT approaches.  Maybe I can sleep now.

 

2 thoughts on “Ride Across the River: Soldier of Freedom in the Army of the Night

Comments are closed.